Current Bee City Partners

Bee City Canada reconnaît ces entreprises et organisations sans but lucratif pour leur engagement en faveur de la protection des pollinisateurs.

Earth’s Honey Inc.

It wasn’t that long ago when our bees, butterflies, birds and other wildlife, as well as our environment, weren’t as threatened as they are today. This is partly due to the ever increasing contamination of our air, water and ground and unfortunately, some of these contaminants, are from everyday products used to beautify our lawns and gardens. As a Bee City Business Earth’s Honey Inc. hopes it will help persuade others to reduce their use of harmful chemicals from chemical based fertilizers that ultimately harm or kill our pollinator population through our social media feeds. We feel the Bee City platform will help make it easier for us and others such as Bee City Canada to promote the need to save our pollinator population.

Fondation communautaire Campbellford/Seymour

Le travail des fondations communautaires est déjà en phase avec la plupart des 17 objectifs de développement durable, dans le cadre de notre mouvement philanthropique international. Les fondations communautaires ont la possibilité de mettre davantage à profit nos connaissances, nos partenaires et nos activités en reliant nos efforts locaux à une vision plus large afin d’améliorer le monde qui nous entoure. Nous sommes fiers d’être une Entreprise amie des abeilles, et nous sommes la première fondation communautaire du Canada ainsi que la première entreprise du comté Northumberland et de la municipalité de Trent Hills a avoir obtenu ce statut. Grâce à cette certification, ainsi qu’au statut de chef de file conféré par notre communauté et aux partenariats que nous avons avec d'autres organisations et groupes communautaires renommés, nous sommes en position d’exercer une influence, d’informer et d’inciter les autres à protéger nos pollinisateurs.

Golf et marina d’Oak Bay

En tant que parcours de golf situé dans une réserve classée biosphère par l’UNESCO, il est important de se souvenir que notre entreprise ne peut pas agir seul, mais fait partie d’un plus large écosystème. En tant qu’Entreprise amie des abeilles, nous nous engageons à servir à la fois nos membres et clients tout en respectant l’environnement. Nous espérons servir d’exemple pour les autres parcours de golf, en passant de la connaissance à l’action et en éliminant l’écart entre le sport que nous aimons et le développement durable.

Luke Farrier Proulx Ltd.

Au cours des années, j’ai pu voir les habitations rurales qui entouraient nos fermes changer de propriétaires et succomber inévitablement à la périurbanisation. Et chaque fois qu’un nouveau propriétaire arrive, les espaces naturels diminuent, de grands espaces arborés disparaissent, des arbustes sont coupés et les fleurs sauvages sont arrachées. Les habitats indigènes sont ainsi détruits par un code non écrit que personne ne remet jamais en question et qui est cultuellement conditionné. Il s’agit du code de la périurbanisation : tondre la pelouse, court et souvent. Le résultat, ce sont des terrains écologiquement stériles. La vie sauvage, les oiseaux et les pollinisateurs disparaissent avec leurs sources alimentaires, leurs lieux de reproduction et leurs abris. Cette disparition se produit à une vitesse terrifiante, sous mes yeux désolés, et cela devient la norme. Cette prise de conscience s’accompagne d’une responsabilité, celle d’agir pour changer le cours des choses. Chaque entreprise et individu a, de manière intrinsèque, l’opportunité de devenir un défenseur de l’environnement. En devenant une Entreprise amie des abeilles, nous pourrons, en tant entrepreneurs et citoyens engagés, ajouter notre voix et nos actions au mouvement collectif et ainsi amplifier ce message si crucial : protéger les pollinisateurs et leurs habitats pour notre salut et pour le leur.

The result is an ecological wasteland. Wildlife, birds and pollinators are disappearing along with their food sources, nesting sites and shelter before my eyes with heartbreaking, terrifying speed this diminished state becomes the new normal. And with that knowledge comes a responsibility to positively act for a greater good. Every business (and individual) has inherent, unique opportunities to advocate for the environment. Becoming a designated Bee City Business will allow us, as small business owners and committed individuals, to add our voice and actions to a collective chorus and amplify the simple, crucial message: protect the pollinators and their habitat – for our sake and theirs.

Central Lake Ontario Conservation

Tous les pollinisateurs, et particulièrement les abeilles indigènes, sont extrêmement importants pour nos écosystèmes. Leur rôle est crucial dans nos réseaux alimentaires et les écosystèmes de nos communautés en raison de l’influence majeure qu’ils exercent sur le processus de pollinisation et, par conséquent, sur la production de fruits et de semences. En obtenant la désignation d’Entreprise amie des abeilles, nous sommes fiers de rejoindre les deux Villes amies des abeilles de notre bassin, Oshawa et Whitby, pour faire entendre ensemble la voix des abeilles. Nous sommes impatients de continuer à défendre les abeilles et à informer les résidents du bassin sur ce qu’il est préférable de planter, et à quel endroit planter, pour créer et maintenir les habitats des pollinisateurs. Chacun de nous peut faire une différence, car n’importe quel jardin peut servir d’habitat pour les pollinisateurs, même le plus petit pot de fleurs sur un balcon.

Les amis du parc Dorchester

Le groupe The Friends and Stewards of Dorchester Park rassemble des volontaires locaux ayant pour mission de restaurer, maintenir et protéger la nature du parc de la ville de Brampton au bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures des membres de la communauté, qu’il s’agisse des êtres humains ou de la faune et de la flore indigènes dépendant de cet espace naturel urbain. Le groupe fonctionne en tant que membre officiel du programme « Adoptez un parc » de la Ville de Brampton. Il reçoit les contributions des membres de la communauté, d’un consultant écologiste professionnel et de la Ville de Brampton.

B Sweet Honey Nature Co.

Marion et Richard Robertson sont propriétaires de B Sweet Honey Nature, une entreprise de production de miel. Après leurs débuts en tant qu’apiculteurs, ils ont vite compris que pour offrir aux abeilles un environnement et une nourriture les plus sains possible, ils devaient travailler sans pesticide et planter des arbustes, arbres et plantes indigènes. Sans le savoir, ils ont ainsi commencé à créer une pépinière spécialisée dans les arbres caroliniens, les arbustes et les plantes pour pollinisateurs. Marion Robertson, qui manie la plume avec autant de talent que la parole, explique dans l’un de ces articles récents :

"L’année dernière, nous avons lancé un programme de migration d’arbres assisté et élargi notre approvisionnement ontarien de semences. C’était une initiative importante que nous laissons maintenant s’épanouir dans le secteur horticole et au sein du grand public. Cette année, nous souhaitons développer notre production de miel en reprenant des principes agricoles classiques pour les utiliser d’une manière non conventionnelle. Nous voulons devenir une ferme pour pollinisateurs, et nous pensons que travailler pour les pollinisateurs, les abeilles indigènes et les abeilles à miel profitera à toute l’industrie apicole et horticole."

Bleu Lavande

Fondée au Québec en 2004, Bleu Lavande profite du microclimat de la Fitch Bay et de sa nature spectaculaire pour cultiver de la lavande (Lavandula angustifolia) et produire une gamme de produits pour le corps et pour la maison. Tous ces produits sont fabriqués au Canada avec des ingrédients d’origine naturelle uniquement. Ils ne sont pas testés sur les animaux, ne contiennent pas de parabène, de produits issus du pétrole ou de parfum artificiel. Bee City Canada est ravi de s’associer à Bleu Lavande pour promouvoir la protection des pollinisateurs!

cath-earth-sis

Véritable condisciple de la Terre, Catherine Dowdell est une arboriste agréée qui redonne de la vitalité à vos plantes. Elle est aussi horticultrice paysagiste Sceau rouge, professionnelle certifiée en aménagement paysager durable et en foresterie urbaine. Catherine compte de nombreuses spécialités, parmi lesquelles l’aménagement d’espaces verts durables, naturalisés et comestibles ainsi que la conception de jardins-forêts et de systèmes d’agroforesterie au moyen de pratiques biologiques et de principes écologiques.

In Our Nature

In Our Nature est une entreprise de création de jardins et d’espaces verts qui s’efforce de ramener la nature dans nos jardins et espaces verts. L’équipe de In Our Nature conçoit des jardins en mettant l'accent sur les plantes indigènes et la création d'habitats pour les pollinisateurs et la vie sauvage. In Our Nature imagine un futur où les espaces verts et les jardins ne seront pas uniquement conçus pour être beaux, mais aussi pour accueillir une grande variété de pollinisateurs et d'espèces sauvages afin d'assurer un environnement sain pour tous.

Les membres de l’équipe Marchés TAU

Les membres de l’équipe Marchés TAU sont de grands défenseurs de l'agriculture biologique. Ils ont pleinement conscience de l'importance de laisser un environnement sain aux générations futures et du rôle primordial des pollinisateurs dans le maintien d'un écosystème riche et diversifié. Pour protéger les pollinisateurs et la nature, ils organisent notamment des événements éducatifs dans leurs magasins et travaillent avec des organismes locaux pour encourager l'agriculture urbaine. 

l'Église Unie Greenwood

Il existe de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles l'Église Unie Greenwood en Peterborough, Ontario, est appelée "église verte". La communauté a planté de nombreuses espèces pour les pollinisateurs, installé deux ruches sur son domaine, et en plus, elle se déplace dans le voisinage pour demander aux propriétaires d'éviter d'utiliser des pesticides. Bee City très heureux de compter l'Église Unie Greenwood parmi ses membres, en tant que première Communauté religieuse amie des abeilles du Canada.

Organic Grocer

Ce supermarché, installé en Colombie-Britannique, veut faire la différence dans la communauté de Surrey. Son but est de collaborer avec les établissements scolaires locaux afin de créer des jardins potagers pour les pollinisateurs. Il souhaite ainsi aider les élèves et les membres de la communauté à mieux comprendre l'importance et les besoins des pollinisateurs et la nécessité d’agir ensemble pour leur protection. Nous remercions chaleureusement The Organic Grocer de défendre les pollinisateurs et l'environnement.

Village des pionniers de Kawartha

Les visiteurs du village des pionniers de Kawartha, jadis exploitation agricole prospère devenue un lieu culte du patrimoine historique, sont invités à découvrir le métier d'apiculteur à la mode des pionniers! Le village regorge également de jardins et d’espaces naturels, tels que le parc environnemental et le parcours nature. On y retrouve des fleurs sauvages, des arbustes et des arbres indispensables pour les pollinisateurs.

Refuge pour la vie sauvage Wild at Heart

Wild at Heart est un organisme caritatif composé de bénévoles consacrant leur temps à la réhabilitation de la vie sauvage dans le nord de l'Ontario, en accueillant et en soignant des animaux blessés avant de les ramener dans la nature. L'organisme croit aussi que les visiteurs doivent être informés sur le rôle clé des pollinisateurs dans le maintien des écosystèmes. Ainsi, en 2017, un nouveau jardin pour pollinisateurs a vu le jour, et il est devenu le centre de nombreuses activités éducatives.

Le zoo de Calgary

Les parterres du zoo de Calgary accueillent des milliers de plantes indigènes riches en nectar, dont la floraison est variée dans le temps (et parfois se chevauche). Les formes des fleurs sont aussi différentes pour satisfaire les différentes populations de pollinisateurs. Les visiteurs du zoo ont également la possibilité de s'informer sur les pollinisateurs grâce à des panneaux d'interprétation, des programmes interactifs et des ateliers éducatifs. Pour toutes ces raisons, le zoo de Calgary a été reconnu en tant que première entreprise amie des abeilles d'Alberta..

West Queen West

West Queen West a gréé le premier paysage de rue de Toronto en installant, sur une partie de la rue Queen, de grands pots de fleurs et hôtels pour abeilles qui permettent aux pollinisateurs de se sentir chez eux au sein de la plus grande ville du Canada. Le BIA organise également des événements éducatifs durant lesquels les membres de la communauté peuvent découvrir comment jardiner en privilégiant les pollinisateurs. C'est pour toutes ces raisons que Bee City Canada a reconnu West Queen West première entreprise amie des abeilles.

L’objectif de Tees For Bees

L’objectif de Tees For Bees est de faire adopter cette cause par le plus grand nombre et de faire découvrir les abeilles et les pollinisateurs à tous les groupes qui n'en entendent jamais parler. Tees For Bees reverse également 10 % de ses bénéfices pour soutenir Bee City Canada et participe à des projets éducatifs communautaires et d’information des jeunes enfants.

Current Bee City Partners

Bee City Canada recognizes these businesses and non-profit organizations for their ongoing commitment to protecting pollinators.

Earth’s Honey Inc.

It wasn’t that long ago when our bees, butterflies, birds and other wildlife, as well as our environment, weren’t as threatened as they are today. This is partly due to the ever increasing contamination of our air, water and ground and unfortunately, some of these contaminants, are from everyday products used to beautify our lawns and gardens. As a Bee City Business Earth’s Honey Inc. hopes it will help persuade others to reduce their use of harmful chemicals from chemical based fertilizers that ultimately harm or kill our pollinator population through our social media feeds. We feel the Bee City platform will help make it easier for us and others such as Bee City Canada to promote the need to save our pollinator population.

Campbellford/Seymour Community Foundation

The work of Community Foundations already connects to many of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals as part of our international philanthropic movement. Community Foundations have an opportunity to further leverage our knowledge, partners and activities connecting our efforts locally to a broader vision to improve the world around us. We are proud to be designated a Bee Business – the first Community Foundation in Canada, the first business in Northumberland County, and the first business in the Municipality of Trent Hills. With this designation, as well as being considered a leader in our community and a partner with many other well-respected organizations and community groups, we would be in a position to influence and educate, as well as inspire others to protect our pollinators.

Oak Bay Golf and Marina

As a golf course located in a UNSECO Biosphere Reserve, it is important to remember that our business does not stand alone; it is a part of a wider ecosystem. As a Bee Business, we will commit to serving both our members and guests as well as the natural environment. We hope to set an example for other golf courses, turn knowledge into action, and close the gap between the sport we love and sustainability.

Luke Farrier Proulx Ltd.

Over the years, I have watched the rural properties surrounding our farm change hands and inevitably succumb to suburbanization. With each new, successive owner the lawns get bigger while large canopy trees are lost, shrubs are cut back and wildflowers cut down. The native habitat is being destroyed by an unwritten, unquestioned, culturally conditioned suburban code of conduct: mow the lawn, short and often.

The result is an ecological wasteland. Wildlife, birds and pollinators are disappearing along with their food sources, nesting sites and shelter before my eyes with heartbreaking, terrifying speed this diminished state becomes the new normal. And with that knowledge comes a responsibility to positively act for a greater good. Every business (and individual) has inherent, unique opportunities to advocate for the environment. Becoming a designated Bee City Business will allow us, as small business owners and committed individuals, to add our voice and actions to a collective chorus and amplify the simple, crucial message: protect the pollinators and their habitat – for our sake and theirs.

Central Lake Ontario Conservation

All pollinators, but especially native bees are extremely important to our ecosystems. They are a crucial component of our food webs and ecosystem communities as they have a huge impact on plant pollination and subsequent fruit/seed production. By becoming a Bee Business, we are honoured to join the two Bee Cities in our Watershed: the City of Oshawa and the Town of Whitby as together we speak for the bees. We look forward to continuing to advocate for the bees and educate our watershed residents about what and where to plant as together we can create and maintain spaces for our four-winged fuzzy pollinators. Everyone has the ability to make a difference because any sized garden can serve as a habitat island for pollinators: even a few planters on a balcony.

The Friends and Stewards of Dorchester Park

The Friends and Stewards of Dorchester Park are a grass-roots group of volunteers dedicated to restoring, maintaining, and protecting nearby nature in their local city park for the mutual benefit of present and future generations of community members including humans, and the native flora and fauna dependent on this urban habitat. The stewardship group operates as an official member of the City of Brampton’s Adopt-A-Park program, and is supported by contributions from community members, a consulting Ecologist, and the City of Brampton.

B Sweet Honey Nature Co.

Marion and Richard Robertson are the co-owners. They started out as beekeepers but quickly learned that they needed to plant pesticide free, native plants, shrubs and trees to provide the bees with the best and healthiest food possible, and before they knew it, they started a nursery business specializing in Carolinian trees, shrubs and pollinator plants. Marion Robertson is a fine writer and an excellent speaker. Below is an excerpt from one of her excellent articles recently published.

“Last year was an exciting year when we launched our assisted tree migration program and expanded our Ontario seed sourcing. It was a big step and now we are letting this ‘ simmer ‘ with the plant industry and the general public.This year, we want to move our honey farm forward by taking well known agricultural ideas and crops and using them in a more unconventional way. We want to become ‘ Farm for Pollinators ‘. By farming for all pollinators, native and honeybee, the honey bee business and nursery will benefit.”

Bleu Lavande

Established in Quebec in 2004, Bleu Lavande takes advantage of the microclimate in the heart of Fitch Bay’s spectacularly beautiful rolling countryside to grow lavender (Lavandula angustifolia) and produce a range of products for the body and home. All products are made in Canada using natural origin ingredients, not tested on animals and free of parabens, petroleum products and artificial fragrances. Bee City Canada is excited to be partnering with Bleu Lavande to promote the protection of pollinators!

cath-earth-sis

A sister of the earth, Catherine Dowdell bring vitality to your plants. She is a certified arborist, Red Seal landscape horticulturalist, certified sustainable landscape and urban forestry professional. Specialties include sustainable, edible and naturalized landscapes, including food forest and agro-forestry design, using organic practices and ecological principles.

In Our Nature

In Our Nature is a natural garden and landscape design company which strives to bring nature back into our gardens and landscapes. They design and create gardens with a strong focus on native plants and creating habitat for pollinators and other wildlife. They envision a future where landscapes and gardens are not only designed to be beautiful, but also support a diverse population of pollinators and other beneficial wildlife to ensure a healthy environment for all.

TAU Markets

TAU Markets are big proponents of organic agriculture. They are keenly aware of the importance of leaving a healthy environment for future generations and the critical role of pollinators in maintaining rich, biodiverse ecosystems. As part of their efforts to protect pollinators and nature, they will be hosting educational events at their five store locations as well as working with local organizations to encourage urban agriculture. 

Greenwood United Church

There are many good reasons why Greenwood United Church in Peterborough, Ontario, is called a “Green Church.” In addition to the numerous plantings for pollinators and two hives on the large property, the community canvassed the neighbourhood to ask homeowners to avoid using pesticides. We are happy to designate Greenwood UC the first Bee City Faith Community in Canada!

Organic Grocer

This grocery store in Surrey, BC, wants to make a difference in their local community. Its goal is to collaborate with area schools to establish pollinator and edible gardens and, in doing so, help the students and other community members to better understand the importance of pollinators and the need to act together to protect them. We wholeheartedly thank the Organic Grocer for advocating for pollinators and the environment.

Kawartha Settlers’ Village

Visitors to Kawartha Settlers’ Village, a once thriving farm that is now a fascinating collection of historic homes, artifacts and buildings, can learn about traditional beekeeping, the way the pioneers did it! The village also features naturalized and garden areas, including Environmental Park and a nature trail, with wildflowers, shrubs and trees that are important to pollinators.

Wild at Heart Wildlife Refuge Centre

Wild at Heart is a charitable, volunteer-based organization whose dedicated team works to rehabilitate and return northern Ontario’s injured, sick, and orphaned animals back to the wild. The organization also believes in educating visitors about the key role of pollinators in maintaining thriving ecosystems and a new pollinator garden, which opened is 2017, is a focal point for many educational activities.

The Calgary Zoo

The grounds of the Calgary Zoo host thousands of nectar-rich native plants, with varying and overlapping bloom times, and floral shapes to satisfy a diverse population of pollinators. Also, zoo visitors learn about pollinators through interpretive signage, interactive programs and educational workshops. For these and other reasons, the Calgary Zoo has been recognized as first Bee City Business in Alberta.

West Queen West

West Queen West created Toronto’s first bee-friendly streetscape, lining a section of Queen Street with large, artfully decorated, concrete planters and bee hotels that make pollinators feel at home in Canada’s largest city. The BIA also organizes educational events where the local community can learn about gardening for pollinators. For this, Bee City Canada has recognized West Queen West as the first Canadian Bee Business.

Tees For Bees

Tees For Bees creates buzz about saving the bees with some funky tee shirts. Their aim is to bring the cause to the mainstream and raise awareness among groups that would not usually be knowledgeable about bees and pollinators. They also donate 10% of their profits to support Bee City Canada and participate in community outreach projects and educating young children.