Établissements scolaires amis des abeilles déjà affiliés

 

École publique Emily Carr

Premier établissement scolaire public de la région de London ami des abeilles

Les élèves de l’école publique Emily Carr savent que les pollinisateurs ont besoin de notre aide, et ils sont passés à l’action! L’an dernier, ils ont planté de nombreuses plantes favorables aux pollinisateurs dans leur école, et ils ont l’intention de continuer cette année. Les élèves ont aussi mis en place un programme de compostage à l’échelle de l’établissement, qui les aidera à enrichir et fertiliser le sol de leurs massifs pour favoriser la croissance des plantes. Toute l’école attend avec impatience le mois de juin, car de nombreuses activités passionnantes seront organisées pour fêter la Semaine nationale des pollinisateurs. Félicitations aux élèves, aux enseignants et au personnel de l’école publique Emily Carr pour tous leurs efforts!  Congratulation to the students, teachers and staff of Emily Carr Public School for all your efforts!

Sitka Daycare Centre

Première Garderie amie des abeilles!

Dans ce centre de la petite enfance de Vancouver, la découverte des pollinisateurs commence dès le plus jeune âge! La garderie est partenaire du collaborating with the projet Port Moody Pollinator qui crée des petits espaces pour pollinisateur en transformant de vieux pneus en jardins. Le jardin présente un assortiment de plantes intrigantes et intéressantes pour les enfants, ce qui permet d’enrichir les connaissances sur la nature et les pollinisateurs. La garderie s'engage également à intégrer l'apprentissage sur les pollinisateurs dans ses différents programmes, et elle prévoit d’organiser une fête durant la semaine des pollinisateurs. Les animateurs et la direction de ce centre de la petite enfance ainsi que l'équipe du projet Pollinisateurs ont toute notre reconnaissance, et nous les remercions chaleureusement d'inculquer le respect, la valeur et la curiosité de la nature.

Gleneagle établissement scolaire secondaire

Les pollinisateurs sont au centre des préoccupations de Gleneagle grâce au travail remarquable d'élèves, dans le cadre du projet Port Moody Pollinator , ainsi qu'avec le club environnemental de l'école. Ces élèves ont participé à une levée de fonds pour financer la création d'un jardin qui présente des massifs surélevés et une variété de plantes nourrissant les pollinisateurs. Ils envisagent également de créer une colonie d'abeilles maçonnes et de travailler en plus étroite collaboration avec d'autres élèves pour intégrer l'apprentissage sur pollinisateurs dans leurs environnements scolaires. Bravo à ces jeunes chefs de file!

North Bendale établissement scolaire intermédiaire

Les élèves s'instruisent sur les pollinisateurs en plantant et en prenant soin des jardins de l'école.

La communauté scolaire North Bendale est bien décidée à sauver les abeilles! Tout au long de l'année, les élèves ont appris à connaître les pollinisateurs et leur rôle essentiel pour notre nourriture et la biodiversité. Ils ont incorporé ces connaissances dans différents projets, tels que la conception des jardins de l'établissement qui accueilleront des plantes indigènes et comestibles ainsi que des hôtels pour abeilles. Un jardin floral près de l'entrée de l'école permettra d’embellir le quartier tout en procurant la nourriture dont les abeilles et papillons ont besoin. Un grand jardin en bordure de l'école a été planté de légumes et plantes à floraison. Les élèves et parents bénévoles seront responsables de l'entretien de ces jardins pendant l'été.

L’école secondaire Stratford Central

L’école secondaire Stratford Central mène des actions afin de devenir plus accueillante pour les pollinisateurs et leur environnement. L’équipe de l’école a ainsi créé un jardin pour pollinisateurs et un jardin-forêt, qui offrent un habitat de qualité aux pollinisateurs tout en permettant aux élèves de découvrir le jardinage responsable et de s’informer sur la santé des pollinisateurs. Les projets à venir comprennent l'enrichissement du jardin avec un ajout de 72 nouvelles plantes indigènes et arbustes. Une animation est également prévue durant la semaine des pollinisateurs, qui aura pour but de célébrer le jardin-forêt de l'établissement.

L'école Montessori Polaris

L'école Montessori Polaris de Prince George, en Colombie-Britannique, se concentre sur l’enseignement des interdépendances des différentes formes de vie sur notre planète. Cinq nouveaux massifs de plantes permettront aux élèves d'en apprendre davantage sur les pollinisateurs et leur relation avec les plantes. Des initiatives éducatives créatives, telles que des présentations effectuées par des élèves plus âgés et des articles publiés dans le magazine de l'école, permettront aux jeunes et à leurs parents d’obtenir des informations sur les pollinisateurs.

Langton établissement scolaire public

L'équipe verte de Langton aide à apporter des changements positifs dans son établissement et dans la communauté locale! Un projet important a consisté à créer six jardins surélevés dans lesquels les élèves planteront des fleurs sauvages après avoir fait des semis en classe. Les élèves ont également construit des hôtels pour insectes et mis en œuvre des tactiques de jardinage implacables pour que l’espace abandonné près de leur école redevienne sauvage, au moyen de « bombes de graines » fabriquées par leurs soins.

Cottingham Établissement scolaire intermédiaire

Nous sommes ravis d'apprendre que cet établissement scolaire de Toronto s'est engagé à apprendre aux élèves l'importance des pollinisateurs et leur rôle dans la nature. Un nouveau jardin scolaire, prévu pour 2018, a vocation à accueillir des fleurs indigènes, des arbustes, des plantes aromatiques et comestibles. L'établissement va aussi mettre en place le Cottingham Bee Ambassadors Club (Ambassadeurs des abeilles de Cottingham), qui proposera des ateliers et d'autres activités pour permettre aux élèves de découvrir les abeilles, les plantes et le jardinage en faveur des pollinisateurs.

THESTUDENTSCHOOL

Cet établissement scolaire alternatif près de High Park, à Toronto, est engagé en faveur l'éducation environnementale depuis les années 1970. Il y a quelques années, un jardin orné d'arbres et d’arbustes indigènes a vu le jour. L'établissement accueille également une station de passage pour les papillons monarques composée d'asclépiades, ainsi qu'un jardin pour pollinisateurs planté avec un assortiment de fleurs sauvages, de plantes aromatiques, de graminées et de plusieurs hôtels pour abeilles. Autre initiative qui mérite d’être mentionnée, l’école participe au projet d'étude sur les oiseaux canadiens NestWatch. Ce projet scientifique d'origine citoyenne a pour mission de collecter des informations sur les oiseaux nicheurs.

Valley Park Établissement scolaire intermédiaire

Nous sommes enchantés d'être associés à ce groupe d'éducateurs et d'élèves qui estiment qu'il est de leur responsabilité de faire revenir les abeilles et de sensibiliser à leur importance. Au cours des dernières années, l'établissement s'est lancé dans un grand chantier de revitalisation de jardins. L’un des objectifs clés était de créer une zone humide composée de plantes indigènes, qui sont des ressources essentielles pour les pollinisateurs. L'établissement scolaire a aussi mis en place un jardin communautaire, qui offre un espace vert aux élèves et à la communauté de cette partie très peuplée de Toronto.

Moscrop Établissement scolaire secondaire

Les membres du club écologique de Moscrop sont des champions pour les pollinisateurs dans leur établissement et au-delà! Ils souhaitent que chaque école secondaire de Burnaby devienne un Établissement scolaire ami des abeilles. Dans ce but, le club accueille toutes les écoles lors d’un événement qui leur permet de s’informer sur l'importance de devenir ami des abeilles. Les membres du club de Moscrop ont également pris contact avec la ville de Burnaby pour l’inciter à devenir une Ville amie des abeilles. Tous nos remerciements et notre gratitude vont à Brennan Strandberg-Salmon, Kevin Lin et les autres membres du club écologique de Moscrop pour les efforts qu’ils déploient afin de protéger les pollinisateurs!

John Barsby Établissement scolaire communautaire

Nous accueillons chaleureusement la communauté scolaire John Barsby, le premier établissement scolaire de Colombie-BritanniqueNous accueillons chaleureusement la communauté scolaire John Barsby, le premier établissement scolaire de Colombie-Britannique. Les membres du club de jardinage « Bars-Bee » se sont engagés à améliorer l'habitat des pollinisateurs au sein de l'établissement. Ils souhaitent également aider les élèves plus jeunes de l'école élémentaire Georgia Avenue à apprendre comment être des défenseurs efficaces de la planète! Merci à la communauté de John Barsby de se soucier de la nature!

Marc Garneau Établissement scolaire secondaire supérieur

Marc Garneau CI, un établissement scolaire écologique du conseil scolaire de Toronto, soutient depuis longtemps des initiatives environnementales et perpétue cette tradition en rejoignant la famille Bee City! Un jardin composé de 200 fleurs sauvages indigènes a été planté en mai 2017. Le comité Bee City de l'établissement s'est également associé avec les professeurs pour développer des initiatives en faveur des pollinisateurs dans leurs salles de classe. Nous sommes reconnaissants à l'équipe qui a permis à tout cela de se produire : les élèves Lisa Wang, Raluca Gondor, Venice Cheng et Mandy Chen, les professeurs Michelle Woodley et Alicia Roberge ainsi que le concierge, Luke Chanmurugan.

Stirling Établissement scolaire public

L'établissement scolaire public de Stirling, en Ontario, a trouvé des moyens originaux pour sauver les pollinisateurs. La façon unique dont les élèves ont défendu les semences et leurs efforts communs pour sauver notre planète nous inspirent. Merci, Mme Mossman-Cross. Vous et vos élèves répandez beauté et amour!

Kortright Hills Établissement scolaire public

Amoureux des abeilles avec une mission! Une initiative dirigée par les élèves du début à la fin, s’est réjouie l’enseignante Cathryn Dykstra. Les élèves de Kortright ont mené des recherches, ont discuté avec des experts universitaires sur les abeilles, fait des annonces, créé et accroché des affiches partout dans l'établissement et conçu et installé plusieurs expositions artistiques sur les abeilles dans leurs salles de classe. Ils ont également conçu un nouveau jardin pour pollinisateurs dans la cour de l'établissement. Ils ont même organisé une journée en l'honneur des abeilles dans l'établissement : chacun devait porter du noir et du jaune. Ils ont ensuite organisé une assemblée des abeilles pour tous. Bravo à ces incroyables chefs de file environnementaux! !

Anderson Établissement scolaire secondaire supérieur

Première école secondaire déclarée Établissement scolaire ami des abeilles!

Nous sommes enchantés par les événements et activités qu'Aidan et l'équipe écologique ont organisés pour sensibiliser la communauté scolaire à la nécessité de protéger les pollinisateurs. Il s’agit, entre autres, de projets en lien avec les STIM, de l'installation de maisons pour abeilles et de la conception d'un jardin pour pollinisateurs composé de plantes indigènes cultivées localement. L'équipe doit également organiser une dégustation de miel et la projection du film d'animation Drôle d'abeille durant la semaine des pollinisateurs. Nous sommes très reconnaissants de tout le travail entrepris par l'équipe écologique d'Anderson de Whitby en faveur des pollinisateurs.

Blythwood Établissement scolaire public

Bravo à Zoé Rosenfeld et Josh Digirolamo pour avoir converti votre école en Établissement scolaire ami des abeilles! Nous sommes enthousiasmés par vos projets visant à créer une oasis pour pollinisateurs ainsi que par vos idées pour inspirer votre communauté, telles que BEE-YOU-tiful Boulevards. Alors que les projets de Blythwood B+B (papillons et abeilles) prennent de l'ampleur, nous sommes certains que votre souhait de relier les communautés en vue de protéger et célébrer les pollinisateurs gagnera également du terrain tout en faisant connaître la beauté des fleurs et des abeilles. Merci de jardiner pour la vie sauvage!

Bee School Tredway Woodsworth PS

Tredway Woodsworth Établissement scolaire public

Le premier Établissement scolaire au Canada!

Tredway Woodsworth utilise des projets d'apprentissage pour enseigner aux élèves le rôle des pollinisateurs, leur importance pour la nature et notre système alimentaire. Le jardin de l'établissement et les maisons sauvages pour abeilles sont le reflet de l'association de l'art et de l'écologie. Et nous devons beaucoup à Mme White, qui est une source d'inspiration pour notre programme Établissements scolaires amis des abeilles. Nous remercions donc chaleureusement les élèves et les professeurs de Tredway Woodsworth, qui partagent leur amour pour les pollinisateurs et leur curiosité pour la nature!

Current Bee Schools

 

Takhini Elementary School

Takhini is a K-7 elementary school that has a proud heritage and place in the history of Yukon education. We take special pride in our school programs and innovative approaches to education. As a northern school, we have access to a wealth of nature and opportunities for land-based learning. We believe it is important for our students to build on their traditions and take part in programs that aim to create an even greater sense of community.We are the 24th Bee School in Canada and the 1st in the Yukon. We have big plans for our 1st year and our staff and students are buzzing with excitement.

Kwä̀nä̀schis (Thank You)

St. Mary Catholic Elementary School

St. Mary has been an ECO School since 2015. We started off as a silver status school and achieved gold status after focusing our schoolyard green efforts. We have added outdoor classrooms, bird nesting boxes and have planted trees. Our school and community have an ever-increasing awareness of how “small steps can make a big difference” and our impact on the world. This year in 2019, our ECO team is striving to improve outdoor spaces from both an environmental viewpoint as well as a wondering learning space/experience for our students.

Ecole Elementaire Catholique Saint-Viateur

We are a French school located in a rural area. Nature and all its aspects are already a big part of our teaching. Our school also has a nature’s class setting on it’s grounds. This nature class includes a small building were our kindergarten students can play, a vegetable garden, a flower garden (that needs improvement), a circle made of tree stumps for lessons or story time and an insect hotel that is built every year by the grade four students. We are surrounded by forests and have access to them. We are pro-active with many environmental issues, are certified «gold» with eco schools.

Belvedere Parkway Eco Leaders

Belvedere Parkway Eco Leaders club is thrilled to accept the designation of the first Bee City School in Calgary, Alberta! We are a committed group of Grade 3 to 6 students that have been working to promote pollination in our local environment. Our goal is to attract local solitary bees and other pollinators by expanding our existing school vegetable garden and planting a local native wildflower garden and other ‘bee loving’ plants and installing solitary bee homes. We are excited to continue educating ourselves, so we may pass on our knowledge to others when we celebrate National Pollinator Week!

Cameron Heights 

Our school is filled with motivated students who are passionate in helping the environment and the ecosystem within it. Especially, we are consistently addressing and advocating for issues in our community at Roots and Shoots, working together as a team to take action while becoming passionate citizens of our planet. One of our key advocacies is fundraising for the Bee Re search at the University of Guelph, through several fundraising campaigns like selling ice cream while making our community aware of the impact that bees have in our lives. Like Bee City Canada, we, as students of Cameron Heights, want to take further action in protecting our environment and our pollinators by becoming part of Bee City School. With the help of Bee City Canada, we believe that our school will progress in becoming an eco-friendly school while supporting the well-being of our essential pollinators.

Little Prints Daycare

Little Prints has been caring for children for more than 30 years. We are committed to creating a supportive environment around each child in our care. The Little Prints Blessed Trinity Teaching Garden has just yielded its second harvest. This raised bed garden has brought our elementary school, daycare and summer camp together through workshops in science, art and literacy, as well as innovative seasonal celebrations (Blessing of the Garden, The Big Soup, Sunflower Friendship Festival). Becoming a Bee School is the next step in the development of our garden curriculum.

Emily Carr Public School

First London-area Public School Designated Bee School

The student at Emily Carr Public School have heard that pollinators need our help and are doing their part! Last year, they planted many plants for pollinators in their school yard and are planning to plant more this year. They have also started a school-wide compost program so that they can enrich the soil in their garden beds and help their plants to grow. June promises to be a fun month at school with all the exciting activities that are planned to celebrate National Pollinator Week.  Congratulation to the students, teachers and staff of Emily Carr Public School for all your efforts!

Sitka Daycare Centre

First Bee City Daycare!

Learning about pollinators starts at a very early age at this Vancouver daycare centre!  The school is collaborating with the Port Moody Pollinator Project to create a small pollinator patch, making creative use of old tires to build garden beds. The garden features an assortment of plants that will engage students and help to enhance learning about nature and pollinators. The school is also committed to implementing learning about pollinators into their programs and will host a fun celebration during Pollinator Week. Our gratitude to the daycare teachers, administration and Pollinator Project team for teaching our children to respect, value and be curious about nature.

Gleneagle Secondary School

Pollinators have become a focal point at Gleneagle thanks to the inspiring work of the student-run Port Moody Pollinator Project and environmental clubs at the school. These students have collaborated to raise money to fund the creation of a garden featuring raised beds and a variety of plants that feed pollinators.  In addition, they are considering starting a mason bee colony and want to get more of their peers involved by working with nearby middle schools to integrate learning about pollinators into their school environments. Kudos to these bright, young leaders!

North Bendale Junior Public School

Students are learning about pollinators while planting and caring for the school gardens

The North Bendale school community is excited about helping to save the bees! Throughout the school year, students have learned about pollinators and their connection to our food and biodiversity. They incorporated this knowledge into projects, such as designs for their school gardens, which will feature native and edible plants as well as bee hotels.  A flower garden near the front of the school will beautify the area while providing food for the bees and butterflies. A larger garden at the side of the school has been planted with vegetables and other flowering plants. Students and parent volunteers will be visiting during the summer to ensure that the gardens are maintained.

Stratford Central Secondary School

Stratford Central is taking action to become more pollinator and environmentally friendly. They have created a pollinator garden and food forest, which offer good pollinator habitat while also proving an opportunity for students to learn about sustainable gardening and the health of pollinators. Upcoming plans include enhancing the garden with 72 additional native plants and shrubs as well as a celebration during Pollinator Week focused on the school’s food forest.

Polaris Montessori Elementary School

Polaris Montessori in Prince George, BC, focuses on teaching about the interconnectedness of life on our planet. Five new garden beds will serve as a place where students can learn about pollinators and their relationship with plants. Also, creative, educational initiatives, such as presentations by their intermediate students and articles published in the school newsletter, will provide students and their families additional opportunities to learn about pollinators.

Langton Public School

Langton’s Green Team is helping to bring positive changes to their school and local community! One important project has been creating a school garden featuring six raised beds, which the students plan to fill with wildflowers that they started from seeds in their classrooms. The students have also constructed insect hotels and followed guerilla gardening tactics, helping to re-wild a vacant space near their school using native seed bombs that they made.

Cottingham Junior Public School

We’re excited to learn that this Toronto school has committed to teaching its students about pollinators and their important role in nature. A new school garden planned for 2018 will include native flowers, shrubs, herbs and edibles. Also, the school will be creating the Cottingham Bee Ambassadors Club, which will offer workshops and other opportunities through which students can learn about bees, plants and gardening for pollinators.

THESTUDENTSCHOOL

This alternative secondary school located near High Park in Toronto has been committed to environmental education since the 1970s. A few years ago, a garden featuring native trees and shrubs was established. The school also hosts a Monarch Way Station with milkweed and a pollinator garden which includes an assortment of native flowers, herbs, grasses and several bee hotels. Another noteworthy initiative this school is involved with is Bird Studies Canada’s Project NestWatch, a citizen science initiative focused on collecting data on nesting birds.

Valley Park Middle School

We’re very excited to partner with this dedicated group of educators and students who see it as their responsibility to bring back the bees and raise awareness about their importance. Over the past few years, the school has gone through a massive yard revitalization, with a key component being the creation of a wetland featuring native plants, many of which attract pollinators. The school has also established a community garden where students and other community members in this densely populated area of Toronto have access to green space.

Moscrop Secondary School

The Moscrop Environmental Club are champions for pollinators in their school community and beyond! They want all high schools in Burnaby to become Bee Schools and are hosting them at an event where their guests can learn why this is important. They have also contacted the City of Burnaby to encourage them to become a Bee City. Many thanks and gratitude to Brennan Strandberg-Salmon, Kevin Lin and all other members of the Moscrop Environmental Club for their efforts to protect pollinators!

John Barsby Community School

A warm welcome to John Barsby Community School, the first Bee School in British Columbia, where members of the “John Bars-Bee Garden Club” have committed to enhancing pollinator habitat on school grounds and helping younger students at nearby Georgia Avenue Elementary School to learn how to be good stewards of the planet!  Thank you to the John Barsby community for caring about nature!

Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute

Marc Garneau CI, a platinum status Eco School within the Toronto District School Board, continues its tradition of supporting environmental initiatives by joining the Bee City family! A garden with 200 native wildflowers was planted in May 2017. The school’s Bee City Committee has also partnered with teachers to incorporate pollinator-friendly initiatives in classrooms. Our gratitude to the team that’s making it all happen: students Lisa Wang, Raluca Gondor, Venice Cheng and Mandy Chen, teachers Michelle Woodley and Alicia Roberge, as well as caretaker Luke Chanmurugan.

Stirling Public School

Creative ways to help pollinators are sprouting-up at Stirling Public School in Stirling, Ontario. The unique ways through which students have championed seeds and their collaborative efforts to make our planet healthier are inspiring to us. Thank you, Mrs. Mossman-Cross. You and your students are spreading beauty and love!

Kortright Hills PS

Bee lovers with a mission! ‘A truly student-led initiative from beginning to end!’ says teacher Cathryn Dykstra. The students at Kortright PS ‘did research, spoke to bee experts from a university, made morning announcements, created posters to put up around the entire school, and produced numerous bee art activities to spread around their classroom walls. They designed a new pollinator garden for their school yard. They even organized a bee celebration day for the entire school where everyone was asked to wear black and yellow and they brilliantly orchestrated a school-wide bee assembly.’ Congratulations to these incredible young environmental leaders!

Anderson Collegiate Vocational Institute

First high school declared a Bee School!

We are thrilled with the events and activities that Aidan and the Eco Team have organized to inspire their school community to care more about pollinators. This includes many STEM-related projects, the installation of wild bee houses and a well designed pollinator garden featuring locally sourced native plants. The team will also host a honey tasting event and a screening of Bee Movie during Pollinator Week. We are very grateful to the Eco Team at Anderson for everything they are doing for pollinators in Whitby and beyond.

Blythwood Public School

Congratulations to Zoe Rosenfeld and Josh Digirolamo for succeeding in getting your school to become a Bee School! We are excited by your plans to create a pollinator oasis and for inspiring your community with ideas like BEE-YOU-tiful Boulevards. As Blythwood’s B+B (Butterfly and Bee) garden plans grow, we are confident that your wonderful initiatives for connecting communities to the protection and celebration of pollinators will also grow, spreading the beauty of flowers and the bees. Thank you for gardening for wildlife!

Bee School Tredway Woodsworth PS

Tredway Woodsworth Public School

The first Bee School in Canada!

Tredway Woodsworth uses an inquiry-based learning approach to teach their students about pollinators, their importance to nature and our food system. Their school garden and wild bee homes reflect an inspiring mix of art and the study of ecology. And, we owe a debt of gratitude to Mme. White for inspiring us to create the Bee City Schools program. So, thank you to the students and teachers of Tredway Woodsworth for sharing your love for pollinators and curiosity about nature!