Campus amis des abeilles

Canadore Bee Campus

Niagara College

Located at the base of the Niagara Escarpment (a designated UNESCO Biosphere Reserve), the Niagara College Niagara-on-the-Lake (NOTL) campus benefits from its integration into the local native habitat, making it the perfect venue to develop initiatives that protect and enrich the natural environment. The Commercial Beekeeping program (the first in eastern Canada) has been involved in and benefited from past efforts for pollinator protection and its faculty has worked in close cooperation with the Office of Sustainability to ensure that pollinator health is a constant priority. In addition to academic programs, certifications such as Bee Campus and Audubon International’s Cooperative Sanctuary Program encourage the tracking and monitoring of pollinator initiatives on campus; providing a platform for continuous improvement of pollinator health on campus.

Canadore Bee Campus

Vancouver Island University

VIU is a medium sized university located in Northern Vancouver Island. The Master of Community Planning programs focus on rural/urban environments mirrors the current habitat of pollinators and teaches sustainable, regionally specific community planning as well as implementing these lessons into the campus itself. These programs, combined with the management of the community gardens and a student led project for campus design work to identify and to achieve VIU’s sustainable development goals. Pollinator health is integral to this work, combining planting, planning, place making and partnership!   

Canadore Bee Campus

Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario

Devenir un Campus ami des abeilles est important pour Ontario Tech University, car nous voulons entrer en contact avec d’autres personnes dont nous partageons les valeurs et nous efforcer de faire la différence pour créer et maintenir un habitat, ainsi que pour accroître la biodiversité dans la région, afin d’aider les pollinisateurs. La disparition des pollinisateurs crée des effets d'entraînement négatifs importants, et Ontario Tech University fait tout son possible pour apporter son aide par des initiatives continues et des efforts découlant du Pollinator Project (projet Pollinisateurs). 

Canadore Bee Campus

le Collège Mohawk

Un chef de file en matière de développement durable rejoint la famille Bee City

Situé dans l’escarpement du Niagara, classé réserve mondiale de la biosphère par l’UNESCO, le Collège Mohawk est un chef de file reconnu du développement durable. Dans le cadre de sa mission axée sur la durabilité environnementale, l’établissement scolaire a mis en place plusieurs initiatives éducatives et activités d’engagement et de promotion centrées sur la santé des pollinisateurs. Le site de l’établissement abrite six colonies d’abeilles mellifères, trois jardins pour pollinisateurs agrémentés de rigoles de drainage biologique, un jardin communautaire de 49 parcelles et un jardin des Trois Sœurs avec des plantes indigènes. L’école a aussi développé un plan d’aménagement paysager durable qui donne la priorité à la naturalisation des parterres de l’établissement. Nous vous recommandons de lire la demande du Mohawk College afin d’en apprendre davantage sur toutes les initiatives remarquables que l’école met en œuvre.

Canadore Bee Campus

Université de Guelph

L'Université canadienne de nutrition est désignée Campus ami des abeilles

L'université de Guelph héberge la première chaire de recherche sur la conservation des pollinisateurs, dédiée à la recherche, la sensibilisation et l'information des politiques publiques sur l'importance et la situation désespérée des pollinisateurs. Le laboratoire Nigel Raine, qui soutient 21 étudiants engagés dans la recherche sur les pollinisateurs, a été créé dans le cadre de la chaire de la famille Rebanks sur la conservation des pollinisateurs. L'université a également montré son engagement en faveur de la protection et la préservation des pollinisateurs en organisant des activités sur le campus, telles que l'enrichissement des jardins avec des espèces d'arbres à floraison, la plantation de plantes pour pollinisateurs (sur les espaces verts du campus) et le bannissement de l'utilisation d'herbicides et de pesticides, et ce, bien avant l'entrée en vigueur des mesures provinciales interdisant leur usage.

Canadore Bee Campus

Université Fleming

Le département des sciences de l'environnement et des ressources naturelles scientifiques de l’Université Fleming, située sur le campus Frost de Lindsay, en Ontario, fait sa part pour la protection des pollinisateurs! Le jardin pour pollinisateurs inauguré en 2004 s’est agrandi d’année en année et offre aujourd'hui un habitat impressionnant de plus de 110 mètres carrés. Le jardin est un centre névralgique pour l'éducation et l’information. Il permet aux employés, aux étudiants et aux membres de la communauté de développer leurs connaissances sur la production de graines, les pollinisateurs indigènes et les abeilles mellifères. La communauté du campus de Frost entretient également des liens étroits avec le comité d'action pour les pollinisateurs de la ville de Kawartha Lakes, qui a été désignée Ville amie des abeilles en 2017.

Canadore Bee Campus

Université Western

Première université reconnue par Bee City Canada!

L'Université Western s'est lancée dans un programme quinquennal afin de rendre le campus plus accueillant pour les pollinisateurs. L'équipe responsable des installations a mis en place des parterres de fleurs composés des plantes préférées des pollinisateurs, telles que la vernonie, la liatride et l'eupatoire maculée. Un jardin médicinal a également été planté. Il comprend des plantes indigènes et d'autres plantes qui serviront aux étudiants du département des études sur les Premières Nations. Une autre initiative, le cycle Green Campus Lecture (conférences du campus vert), permet aux participants d'apprendre comment planter et prendre soin des plantes indigènes, comment construire des maisons pour abeilles et comment aider les pollinisateurs sur le campus et dans la communauté au sens large.

Canadore Bee Campus

Canadore College

Canadore College, à Perry Sound, est le premier Campus ami des abeilles du Canada.

Toutes nos félicitations à Peter Istvan pour son travail remarquable!

Current Bee Campuses

Canadore Bee Campus

Mohawk College

Leader in Sustainability Joins Bee City Family

Located on the Niagara Escarpment, a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Mohawk College is widely recognized as a leader in sustainability. As part of its sustainability mission, the school supports education, engagement and promoting pollinator health on campus through various initiatives. The campus is home to six honey bee colonies, three pollinator gardens and bioswales, a 49-plot community garden and an Indigenous three sisters garden. The college has also developed a Sustainable Landscape Plan, prioritizing the naturalization of campus grounds. We encourage you to read their application to learn more about the many exciting initiatives taking place at Mohawk.

Canadore Bee Campus

University of Guelph

Canada’s Food University designated Bee City Campus

The University of Guelph is home to Canada’s first Research Chair in Pollinator Conservation which focuses on researching, raising awareness and informing public policy on the importance and plight of pollinators. The Rebanks Family Chair in Pollinator Conservation, Nigel Raine, established the Nigel Raine Lab, supporting 21 graduate students engaging in pollinator research. The university has also shown its commitment to pollinator health and conservation through campus initiatives such as enhancing the tree canopy with flowering tree species, integrating pollinator-friendly plants in campus landscapes and voluntarily banning herbicides and pesticides many years before provincial bans took effect.

Canadore Bee Campus

Fleming College

Fleming’s School of Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences, located at the Frost Campus in Lindsay, Ontario, is doing their part to help pollinators!  A pollinator garden established in 2004 has gradually expanded and now provides an impressive 1,200 square feet of habitat.  The garden is a focal point for education, serving as a place where staff, students and other community members learn about seeds saving, native pollinators and honey bees. The Frost Campus community also has close ties with the Pollinator Action Committee of the City of Kawartha Lakes, which was designated a Bee City in 2017.

Canadore Bee Campus

Western University

First University Recognized by Bee City Canada!

Western University has embarked on a five year plan that will create a more pollinator-friendly campus. The Facilities team is stocking garden beds with regional, pollinator favourites, like ironweed, liatris and Joe Pye weed. A medicinal garden has also been planted, with native and other plants being grown and tended to by students in the Indigenous Studies department. Another initiative, the Green Campus Lecture series, provides opportunities for participants to learn about planting and caring for native plants, building bee condos and other ways to help pollinators on campus and in the broader community.

Canadore Bee Campus

Canadore College

Canadore College in Parry Sound became the first Bee Campus in Canada.

Congratulations, Dr. Peter Istvan for “beeing” Canadore College’s Bee City Champion!